40th Anniversary Weston Beach Race - A Weekend of Record-Breaking Action!
26th September, 2023

The weekend of the 40th anniversary Weston Beach Race was nothing short of extraordinary, with records shattered and champions emerging triumphant! Here's a recap of the thrilling action:

125/250 Class:
To kick off the weekend, the 125/250 class roared onto the track with unmatched determination. Reece Jones bid farewell to his 125cc career in style, clinching the victory a full lap ahead of Chester Hyde in second place. It was a testament to Jones's outstanding season in the 125cc class, a campaign that also saw him secure the ACU British Championship at Monster Mountain. Graham Haddow secured the third spot aboard his KTM. Notably, the GasGas and KTM bikes dominated the top eight positions in the class. Special recognition goes to Lucy Barker, who claimed the 10th overall spot and became the top female rider in the 125cc class.

In the 250cc class, Jak Taylor piloted his Husqvarna to victory, securing a lead of one and a half minutes over George Hopkins, who engaged in thrilling battles, including a record-setting fastest lap. Leon Williams trailed closely behind, securing a well-deserved third place on the podium. Elsie Skuse showcased her prowess by rounding up the 250cc class for the ladies in a commendable 26th position.

65cc Class (Pocket Rockets):
The smallest class of the weekend, the 65cc class, or ""pocket rockets"" as they're locally known, followed suit with unwavering determination. Casey Lister, the 2023 ACU British Champion, capped off his season in grand style, clinching the first-place overall position on his GasGas. Lister completed an impressive 17 laps, facing stiff competition from Cohen Jagielski, who managed to stay within a 1 minute 23-second reach of Lister. Jett Gardiner secured the third spot with a solid 15 laps to his name.

Quad and Sidecar Class:
In the Quad and Sidecar class, the Williams/Green team secured their second consecutive win, with Lawry/Wilkinson finishing second, closely trailing by two laps. The Factory Image Racing team, Zembruski/Lewis, earned a commendable third place with 13 solid laps.

In the Quad Solo category, Oliver Sansom emerged victorious, marking his first-time win with a staggering 16 laps completed and a lead of over a minute ahead of Dwayne Barnes in second place. Jonny Mcknight claimed the third position, just 3 minutes behind the leader.

The 2-Man Quad podium was dominated by Can-am quads, with the Gove/Hunter team taking the top spot, followed by the Guy/David team in second and the Jones/Mccormick team in third.

Steve Atkins etched his name into Weston history by becoming the first-ever 4x4 quad rider to win the overall race, leading the 4x4 class ahead of Lathan Prichard and Adam Twine, who secured second and third positions, respectively.

85cc Class (Inclusive of Small Wheel and Big Wheel):
Sunday began with the action-packed 85cc class, which encompassed both Small Wheel and Big Wheel categories. In the Big Wheel class, Drew Stock, who finished fourth in this year's ACU British Championship, was crowned champion at this year's Weston Beach Race. He outpaced Harry Lee in second and Blake Ward-Clarke in third, with all three finishing with 26 laps and within a mere 2.23 minutes of each other.

Jenson Severn dominated the Small Wheel class, impressively completing 21 laps, one ahead of second and third-place finishers Lucas Lee and Archie Butterfield.

Adult Solo Class:
The highly anticipated Adult Solo class featured an array of renowned riders from motocross, beach cross, and enduro disciplines. Five-time champion Todd Kellett faced fierce competition from previous winner Ashley Greedy, Enduro Champion Billy Bolt, teammate Milko Potisek, and British Championship rider Sam Nunn, who rounded out the top five spots in reading order. Todd Kellett and Ashley Greedy engaged in an intense battle throughout the entire race, with Greedy briefly taking the lead during the first half. Kellett, however, reclaimed the lead and secured victory, with both riders completing 20 laps, one more than the riders in 3rd to 5th place.

First-time rider Milko Potisek and Billy Bolt delivered thrilling battles throughout the three-hour race, with Billy ultimately clinching third place on the podium. Derek Bawn secured victory in the Over 40s class and 31st place overall, followed by Neville Bradshaw in 38th overall and second in the Over 40s class. Derry Milling claimed the third position.

In the Factory Image Racing Ladies Class, Emily Hall took the top spot, followed by Zoe Zembruski in second and Katie Walker, both representing the Factory Image Racing team.

The 40th Anniversary Weston Beach Race showcased exceptional talent and unforgettable moments, solidifying its place as a premier off-road racing event. Congratulations to all the riders for their incredible performances!

Stay tuned for more thrilling updates from Weston Beach Race and join us in celebrating this historic milestone.

Our Partners