Monster Mountain Roars: Conrad Mewse the Rookie MX1 Champion!
11th September, 2023

The Official Revo ACU British Motocross Championship made its way to Monster Mountain in Myrthr Tydfil for the season finale and Championship decider in all seven classes.

In the MX1 class it was a showdown to the very last race Harri Kullas fought for the first race win from under Josh Gilberts nose passing him in the early stages of the race, with his team mate Conrad Mewse coming third. With these results Conrad could not bring home the Championship just yet. In the second race Kullas took the 24mx holeshot award but within the first few corners Mewse overtook him and led the remainder of the race, bringing home the red plate and the overall MX1 Championship in his rookie season!

In the MX2 class Isak Gifting had the opportunity to wrap up the title in the first race but wouldn’t have things go his way initially after a crash in the first corner required him to race from last place up to 15th; enough points to clinch the Championship title. Coming in clutch with the win in both races was Tommy Searle who was wildcarding in the MX2 class to finish out the season, The #100 last rode on the 250cc in 2017 at the MXoN and the GTCI Revo Kawasaki rider relived his youth as he stormed the class and the overall on the day! Dylan Walsh, in his return from injury, finished second overall two points ahead of Elliott Banks-Browne. Wildcard Jack Chambers placed fourth and Sam Nunn Fifth.

Billy Askew wrapped up the 250cc youth class in the second race of the weekend, which resulted him moving up into the MX2 class for Sundays racing, in which he placed 13th overall. Brazillian Wildcard Bernardo Tiburdo was hot on the heels of Billy in the first two races then proceed to win both races on Sunday, placing first overall this round. In second and second overall in the Championship is Mckenzie Marshall third overall is local rider, Jak Taylor.

The Matt Gardiner MX team was a big presence in the 125cc class this weekend with Freddie Gardiner and Lucy Barker both making the podium in second and third. Max smith took first overall with the absence of Wal Beaney whilst Reece Jones wrapped up the 125cc Championship despite a big crash on Saturday.

In the BW85cc class Charlie Richmond took the overall followed closely by Josh Vail. Josh remained consistent after his win and took home the second race, but Richmond pushed harder and took home three race wins and 175 points overall. Jamie Keith was third on the podium for this weekend’s racing. The Championship winner was Josh Vail who will now step up to the 125cc class next year.

the small wheel class was exciting to watch, with the best of the best from qualifying clubs over the country. Joel Winstanley-Dawson won three of four races with Arthur Moore claiming the fourth. Lucas Lee in third overall, saw his best result from the championship rounds this weekend.

The super competitive 65cc class rounded out the day with the youth riders never failing to excite the crowd. Casey Lister would finish first overall this weekend going 1-1-1-1 throughout, he left no room for error. Whilst Jett Gardiner placed second ahead of Championship winner Harley Marczak in third.

Congratulations to all of our winners this season. Stay tuned on our social media to find out more about 2024.

Our Partners